Abdul shares his secrets to being a good Support Worker and what motivates him to get up in the morning to come to work every day.

Tell us a little bit about your background

My name is Abdul, I am from Fiji. I am a Muslim and a priest as well. My wife’s name is Shaheen Ali and I have two beautiful children Abdullah and Aliyah Ali.

I have worked in many different fields in my career but working for Pacific Homecare is the best job to date. I believe money can be earned by anyone but respect not so much.

Working as a Support Worker gets me paid but the most important is when my customers give me blessings. My religion tells me to look after your parents when they cannot do so anymore. With Gods blessings, I’ve got my papas and mamas to look after. It is a privilege for such a wonderful company.

I would like to pray that God bless all our staff who I also consider my family and all the customers we are looking after.

What sorts of things do you do in your job?

I do personal cares and home management. I also help my customers in achieving their goals.

Tell us about your customers / a normal day in your job?

My customers are like my family. I get welcomed with open arms into their family homes when I arrive which makes me happy.

What training have you completed at Pacific Homecare?

I have completed Everyday Leaders and am currently doing my Level 2 Health & Wellbeing Certificate.

What do you like most about working at Pacific Homecare?

I enjoy working and helping our papa’s and mama’s and mostly to get their blessings.

When I do personal care or home management I sit with my customers and talk with them and listen to their stories of the old times. This makes me feel so proud and privileged to be able to give them that little happiness.

Who inspires you?

My Wife. I used to take my wife who is in the same field to her clients and saw how she looked after them. This inspired me to get into the field and take care of people as a Support Worker.

At the end of your working day, what do you like to do?

I like to go home and enjoy time out with my family

QUICK FIRE QUESTIONS

Favourite type of music?

Hindi Music

Favourite food?

Indian dishes, Chinese dishes, and Island food

What are you into right now?

Completing my Level 2, 3, & 4 Health & Wellbeing Certificates

What languages do you speak?

Hindi, English, Urdu

What are your hobbies?

Watching cartoon with my son. Cooking and helping the family around

What’s your favourite childhood memory?

When I finished my religious book

What did you want to be when you grew up?

Be a leader in my community and help everyone

If you weren’t doing this job what would you be doing?

A Priest

“Since he has started with us, Abdul has proven to be a reliable and hard worker. He is a valuable member of the team and we are pleased he has joined us.”

Ann Louise

Leave a Reply

Close Menu
Close

Contact Us:

Level 1, 230 Great South Rd, Papatoetoe, Auckland

Visit our Location

(09) 274 9153

Call us Anytime during 08:00 am and 07:00 pm

Mon - Fri: 08:30 am - 05:00 pm

Sat and Sun: CLOSED

Follow Us:

Stay in Touch: