Originally from Fiji, Pacific Homecare Support Worker Sashi Kumar has a dedication to learning and takes an interest in her own development. Outside of work, she and her family enjoy a love of music and she cherishes these moments with her two sons and husband. Sashi is our July Employee of the Month!
NEW_EOMJuly_SashiSashi Kumar grew up in a small Fijian town called Ba, where she went to school at Khalsa College.

The youngest child of four, and the only girl, she qualified as a teacher and taught at primary level in Fiji.

After moving to New Zealand, she continued as an Early Childhood teacher here in New Zealand.

With a career change she joined Pacific Homecare in March 2016 as a Support Worker. Her responsibilities involve completing a range of client care plan tasks in the household, such as cooking and cleaning.

She says she really enjoys spending time with the older generation.

“There is so much we can learn from by spending time with them,” she says.

“I like working at Pacific Homecare because I enjoy spending time with the elderly, talking with them and looking after them.”

She has completed her Level 3 National Certificate qualification and says she likes to learn.

“Here at Pacific Homecare I have been offered plenty of opportunity to learn, participating in workshops, everyday leaders, my Level 2 certificate and now my Level 3.”

Sashi’s Field Coordinator says Sahsi is a star worker.

“Sashi is an exemplary worker. She is willing to do relieving when we need her to on top of the high number of hours she already puts in,” she says.

“She is very relatable and takes an interest in her own development by attending the workshops and completing her certificates. She is well liked by her customers and colleagues – her friendly personality is warm and welcoming.”

Sashi is grateful for the flexibility her job provides.

“My Field Coordinator is flexible enough so I am able to pick and drop my children off at school each day, which really helps.”

She says her husband and sons keep her going.

“They keep me going by supporting me regardless of how demanding my work hours can be and the time I need for any development courses I attend.”

When she gets home she likes to cook and listen to good music.

“I enjoy cooking with my boys and listening to good music,” she says.

“My older son plays the Tabla and younger the Harmonica so the love of music is shared with all the family.”
Favourite type of music?
I enjoy the sound of male singers, my favourite at the moment is Kumar Sanu
Favourite food?
Palau. Sometimes when I have free time, I cook a nice pot of palau and drop it off to the office for them to enjoy.
What are you into right now?
Hindi series called “Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai”
What languages do you speak?
Hindi & English
What are your hobbies?
Cooking / Music / Meeting People
What’s your favourite childhood memory?
My best memory was hanging out with my late best friend. We went to primary school together, secondary school, and University together. We were best friends for a very long time, but sadly he passed away last year.
What did you want to be when you grew up?
I wanted to be a nurse, but changed my mind in high school to becoming a teacher. This is partly why I love my job today.
If you weren’t doing this job what would you be doing?
I have also completed a hospitality certificate. If I was not doing this job, I would be a CSA (Customer Services Agent) at Air NZ or a nurse.

Leave a Reply