At her core Asa has always enjoyed working with children. As a young girl in Labasa town in the Fiji Islands she would spend her spare time babysitting all her cousins. This nurturing personality has carried through to her workIn story photo.

Asa had always aspired to be a Nurse as a young girl, she feels her role as a Support Worker has come as a close second because she gets to care for the elderly and looks forward to going to work each day.

At her core Asa has always enjoyed working with children. As a young girl in Labasa town in the Fiji Islands she would spend her spare time babysitting all her cousins. This nurturing personality has been shown in her work, a reason why she has been recognised as Employee of the Month of Januray.

Tell us a little bit about your background
Born and raised in sunny Labasa, Fiji Islands, I am the youngest of 11 children.

I lived in Fiji for 48 years before I moved to New Zealand in 2005. I made the move here to be with my children who had moved to NZ earlier and husband who had taken the lead.

I was married at the age of 19 years old and had four children with my husband. I have two girls, two boys and seven grandchildren

I am currently enjoying the spoils of living with my son and his family in Manurewa. I have wonderful daughters in law who look after me well.
What sorts of things do you do in your job?
I am skilled and trained with all types of care from personal to complex care including cooking and shopping.

The things I do in my job are showering and dressing our customers, cooking and serving meals, exercising customers, household tasks like cleaning, etc and shopping.
Tell us about your clients / a normal day in your job?
I am usually up at 5am. I have a routine I follow each morning. When I get up, I shower then pray, get dressed, then I am ready for the day ahead.

I enjoy looking after my customers, so I never have to worry about psyching myself up for the day ahead. It all just comes naturally. You know what they say, Time flies when you are having fun!
What training have you completed at Pacific Homecare?
I have been fortunate enough to be invited to ALL In house training and have attended them all. I have also completed a First Aid course as well as the Everyday Leaders training.

I have recently graduated with my Level 3 Health & Wellbeing certificate with Careerforce through Pacific Homecare.
What do you like most about working at Pacific Homecare?
I like the job. I like helping and taking care of our senior citizens. Every day I am happy to go to my customers even when I am sick because they will be waiting for me.

I have good coordinators. They listen to our requests, they’re nice to us. I like the work that Pacific Homecare do by helping our elderly and disabled and responding to their needs.
Who inspires you?
My daughter in law helps me with a lot of things, if there are things that I find difficult to understand, she will patiently explain them to me.

My children inspire me to continue learning even though I may find it difficult. My children push me to keep going.
At the end of your working day, what do you like to do?
I am very fortunate. When I get home, my daughter-in-law has already cooked so I just shower, do my prayers and just relax.

Sometimes I would go into my garden and do a bit of work or water it.
Favourite type of music?
I spend a lot of my time reading or praying or with my grandchildren, I don’t really listen to music or watch TV
Favourite food?
Fresh fish curry with roti and a little rice
What are you into right now?
Holy Quran
What languages do you speak?
Hindi, English
What are your hobbies?
Reading, Gardening, Sewing, Cooking, and Looking after children. I love children
What’s your favourite childhood memory?
I used to love planting flowers around my house. I was always pedantic about keeping my house clean from a little girl till now. I liked making friends and meeting new people.

I especially loved playing with children. I remember in the holidays back home, I would always bring my cousins home with me to stay for the whole school holidays and we’d play games and have lots of fun.
What did you want to be when you grew up?
I really wanted to become a nurse, but my mother did not allow me to go to university.
If you weren’t doing this job what would you be doing?
Before starting with Pacific Homecare, I was a babysitter. I have always enjoyed looking after children, so I would have continued as a babysitter.
What makes this staff member deserving of the EOM Award?
One of the bigger struggles as a Field Coordinator is finding relievers for those unplanned leave requests such as sick leave. Asa Bi has always said yes to our requests whenever we need her. She is a reliable worker and her clients enjoy working with her

Leave a Reply