Employee of the Month Mile Tiasiutele’s up bringing was mainly influenced by her mum. Brought up in village life she instilled hard work and responsibilities. The daily routine was always communal focused, with fishing and gardening to support the family. This has carried forward to Mile todayMile resized as a support worker for Pacific Homecare.

Tell us a little bit about your background
I am the 5th youngest of 11 children, 9 boys and 2 girls. I was raised by my mum and dad in a village called Siufaga Falelatai in Upolu, Samoa. On the 2nd of December, 1975 at the young age of 20 I moved to New Zealand which has been my home ever since.
What sorts of things do you do in your job?
With my Level 3 Health & Wellbeing Certificate I can perform all tasks from household tasks, to personal care, to complex care. I have a responsibility to all my clients and I like taking care of them, whatever the task I have been given.
Tell us about your clients / a normal day in your job?
I work 5 days a week and with one client on a Sunday.  I have 4 permanent clients and do a bit of relieving in between.
What training have you completed at Pacific Homecare?
I have completed first aid, everyday leaders, health and wellbeing certificates up to level 3 along with a long list of inhouse training such as dementia, diabetes, food handling, etc. I have been invited to complete level 4 but that is not something I am ready for just yet.
What do you like most about working at Pacific Homecare?
Pacific Homecare is big on learning and up-skilling employees. I like that they support me in my learning. I like the work I do. Caring for the elderly gives me great pleasure.
Who inspires you?
Our Training and Services Manager Ann-Louise Uluakiaola, she always pushes me to do better and shows me how to do the job.
At the end of your working day, what do you like to do?
The wheel keeps spinning when I get home! With 22 grandchildren I am always on the move with lots to do.  Hard work is what I know, I only rest when it is bedtime.
Favourite type of music?
Samoan music of course
Favourite food?
Chopsuey and Taro
What are you into right now?
Not too much. I like reading the bible regularly, it calms my mind.
What languages do you speak?
English and Samoan
What are your hobbies?
No time to entertain hobbies
What’s your favourite childhood memory?
Simply being in my village back in Samoa and the life there.
What did you want to be when you grew up?
Like I said earlier, life has always been about hard work so for me, I took each day as it came.
If you weren’t doing this job what would you be doing?

Leave a Reply

Close Menu

Contact Us:

Level 1, 230 Great South Rd, Papatoetoe, Auckland

Visit our Location

(09) 274 9153

Call us Anytime during 08:00 am and 07:00 pm

Mon - Fri: 08:30 am - 05:00 pm

Sat and Sun: CLOSED

Follow Us:

Stay in Touch: