As someone who was always fascinated by the mechanics of the human anatomy, Pawandeep Singh says it was natural for him to transition into a Support Worker role at Pacific Homecare. Pawandeep loyally looks after his clients with a deep sense of responsibility and gratitude, and is our Employee of the Month for September.

pawandee-singh-newsPawandeep loves working with different people from different backgrounds and says that he’s learned so much in his time at Pacific Homecare. India born-and raised, Pawandeep says it was easy to adjust to life in New Zealand and even more importantly to his role as Support Worker, which he loves. Read more about our Employee of the Month for September below.
Tell us a little bit about your background:
Born and raised in India, I sought out a career in Pharmacy before I immigrated to New Zealand. I have four older sisters who live with my parents back in India. Moving to New Zealand, I wanted to stay in health care management so I applied for and secured a Support Worker position with Pacific Homecare.
What sorts of things do you do in your job?
Usually most of my clients have personal care in the morning, household tasks in the afternoon and meal preparation any time of the day. My permanent clients have set hours so I travel from client to client completing tasks for them to the best of my ability.
Tell us about a normal day in your job?
I help my clients physically in any way I can to achieve their tasks and goals. My favourite time would be when I get down time with them. These moments are of the greatest value as I get to grow closer to the family and the client.
What training have you completed at Pacific Homecare?
I have completed my Level 2 training and am currently undertaking Level 3.
What do you like most about working at Pacific Homecare?
I love working with different people from different backgrounds, and have learned more about different people working for Pacific Homecare completing care plan tasks such as preparing meals. Growing up my mother always did the cooking but since living alone I have learned from my room mates and clients to cook.
Who inspires you?
My mother, she instilled in me values as a child that I continue to practice to this day
At the end of your working day, what do you like to do?
I have long work hours starting early and finishing late, so when I finish work, I come home and eat, and get ready for the next day.
QUICK FIRE QUESTIONS
Favourite type of music?
Punjabi songs and Western Pop
Favourite food?
Indian style food
What are you into right now?
Right now it’s all about work
What languages do you speak?
English, Hindi, Punjabi and Dogri
What are your hobbies?
Helping out at the communal kitchen at Sikh Temples that feed the less fortunate
What’s your favourite childhood memory?
My mother taking me to school, and also bring cared for by her
What did you want to be when you grew up?
Anything involved in health care
If you weren’t doing this job what would you be doing?
Pharmacist

Leave a Reply

Close Menu
Close

Contact Us:

Level 1, 230 Great South Rd, Papatoetoe, Auckland

Visit our Location

(09) 274 9153

Call us Anytime during 08:00 am and 07:00 pm

Mon - Fri: 08:30 am - 05:00 pm

Sat and Sun: CLOSED

Follow Us:

Stay in Touch: